Centennial Farm

March 22, 2018 Fair Board Meeting Agenda (Thursday at 9 AM by Choice)

Fair Board Meeting (2)

The complete agenda is available here 

https://ocfair.com/public-information/public-meetings/

More information including copies of contracts listed in the agenda will be available on the  Monday before the Thursday 9 AM Board of Directors meeting.  There is no significant update on the Master Site Plan process even though work is continuing in the back rooms without the public being asked to participate. 

Issues to watch are:

Contract amendment for Spectra, the onsite caterer which holds the alcohol license and operates the Orange County Market Place.  Update on the struggling Orange County Market Place. (Agenda Item 9B) A copy of the current contract with Spectra and for the OC Market Place are available on the Fairgrounds Documents Page. 

Centennial Farm Foundation Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) Issues: Centennial Farm Foundation is legally separate from Centennial Farm and does not own, operate, or provide a significant source of funding for Centennial Farm. Centennial Farm Foundation has been asked to sign an MOU formalizing the relationship with the OC Fairgrounds (Orange County Fair and Event Center) and has not signed the MOU after a long wait. The Board may take action regarding the MOU at this meeting which is not expected to make a significant change in operation of Centennial Farm. 

California Assembly Bill 2396 Discussion: This is a bad bill which allows conflicts of interest and removes competitive bidding rules, among other changes. Kill the bill!

Committee/Task Force/ Liaison Reports will be given on these areas (Agenda Item 9A):

Pacific Amphitheatre Operation Evaluation & Review Task Force (Director Berardino, Director Tkaczyk): This task force hired the former manager of the Pacific Amphitheatre under Nederlander when the noise problems occurred to assist the task force in reviewing Pacific Amphitheatre operations and making recommendations for changes. A no-bid contract was used for the hiring.

Centennial Farm Foundation Board (Director Cervantes)

Heroes Hall Veterans Foundation Board (Director Berardino, Director LaBelle): Note that Heroes Hall Veterans Foundation does not own, operate or provide a significant source of funding for the Heroes Hall Museum. 

 Financial Monitoring Committee (Director Pham, Director Mouet)

 Legislative Monitoring Task Force (Director Berardino, Director Aitken)

 Master Site Plan Task Force (Director La Belle, Vice Chair Ruiz)

 Tenant Liaison Committee (Director Tkaczyk, Director Berardino)

 Equestrian Center Task Force (Director Aitken, Director Tkaczyk)

 

Questions or Comments can directed to:

CEO Kathy Kramer kkramer@ocfair.com

OC Fair Board Directors Added May 3, 2018

Chair Barbara Bagneris bbagneris@ocfairboard.com
Vice Chair Robert Ruiz rruiz@ocfairboard.com
Ashleigh Aitken aaitken@ocfairboard.com
Nick Berardino nberardino@ocfairboard.com
Sandra Cervantes scervantes@ocfairboard.com
Doug La Belle dlabelle@ocfairboard.com
Gerardo Mouet gmouet@ocfairboard.com
Newton Pham npham@ocfairboard.com
Stan Tkaczyk stkaczyk@ocfairboard.com

Public records requests can be submitted to cpra@ocfair.com

 


Why Are No New Agriculture Buildings Being Built in the Master Site Plan Proposals?

Dig Question (2)

If you find out, please tell us because the Fair Board and staff claim that agriculture is a primary focus, but agriculture is treated like an afterthought.

Claims are made that the “Ag-Expo Hall” is strictly for agriculture, but how realistic that a 50,000 to 150,000 sq ft exposition building will be used only for agricultural shows. When was the last time there was a farm show in Orange County?  An Ag-Expo building with 50,000 sq ft of rentable space would have more rentable space than the meeting space on the second level of the Anaheim Convention Center over Halls A and B which can accommodate over 4,000 guests. 

An Ag Expo building with 150,000 sq ft of rentable space would have more rentable space than in three out of five exhibit halls at the Anaheim Convention Center, and could accommodate up to 12,000 guests.

The Ag-Expo building is being built as rentable space and will be used as part of a convention center in much of the same ways that the exhibit halls at the Anaheim Convention Center are used.

The “Big Farm” in the “Bold” proposal requires a convention and expo center to be built to get this project done. This is unacceptable.


"Smart Farm"" Bill Includes Fairgrounds & Community Colleges - Opportunity for OC Fairgrounds & Orange Coast College

Attention Question (1)

A new Assembly bill, AB 2166 (Caballero) encourages community colleges and fairgrounds to collaborate on establishing "smart farms" on community college campuses and fairgrounds to provide regional agricultural businesses the opportunity to showcase up-to-date technology in real world practice. The OC Fairgrounds is across the street from Orange Coast Community College where there is an active horticulture program. Adding a new farm area at the OC Fairgrounds to showcase agricultural technology would be a benefit to the OC Fairgrounds, Orange Coast College, local agricultural businesses, and the community as a whole. Please ask your local Assemblymember, the OC Fair Board, and Orange Coast College to support this bill.

Download a copy of the bill as of Feb 13, 2018  Download Bill Text - AB-2166 California Farm Bill: agricultural technology

Track AB 2166 http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov

Orange Coast College Board Contact Info
David A. Grant, ​​​President​​ ​ dgrant14@cccd.edu

​Mary Hornbuckle, Vice President ​mhornbuckle@mail.cccd.edu

Dr. Lorraine Prinsky, Clerk of the Board lprinsky@cccd.edu

Jim Moreno, Trustee jmoreno@cccd.edu

Jerry Patterson, Trustee jpatterson@cccd.edu

Javier Venegas, Student Trustee strustee@mail.cccd.edu

 

Contact OC Fair Board via Summer Angus and ask Ms. Angus to foward the email to the Fair Board sangus@ocfair.com

 

Contact your State Assmblymember http://assembly.ca.gov/assemblymembers


Does the OC Fairgrounds Make Enough Money to Add Agricultural Programs and Facilities?

Cow Sign Question (2)

Yes. The OC Fairgrounds has more than enough money now to increase agricultural programming, building new agriculture facilities, increase community programs, and lower rates to allow community groups to use the facilities. November 2017 financials show year to date revenues of $44,948,460 with operating expenses of $34,501,492 which is a profit of $10,446,968 or 23.2%.

The November 2017 financial statements are here  Download Financials_17_12_December_Board_Packet


Proposed Convention and Expo Building Blocks in Centennial Farm

 

While the Fair Board claims that agriculture is a primary focus of the OC Fairgrounds, actions don't support those claims.  New Master Site Plan proposals show a new 40,000 sq ft "Educational Meeting Center" with a 20.000 sq ft ballroom being built behind Centennial Farm. 

Aspirational_CentralCampus_Sept 17 Board

The "Educational Meeting Center" is a meeting and conference center with a fancy name.  The ballroom will be used for conventions, tradeshows, meetings, and other events.  This is not a school building and there are no plans to open a school of the arts which will use the classrooms and ballroom on a daily basis for arts education, rehearsals, and performances. 

Space for expanding Centennial Farm would be lost to the "Educational Meeting Center".  Expect the building to be two or more stories tall and to dominate the landscape with bulk and mass. A building of the size and location shown can cast shadows on Centennial Farm, which can harm the agriculture exhibits. 

While claims are made that agriculture is important, the Master Site Plan proposals show making money by becoming a convention and expo center is more important than agriculture, and that harming the agriculture mission is okay if there is money to be made.